News anchors seek balance, too

18 Sep

Parenting experience of the week:

I took Hannah to the mall to let her release some energy at the Children’s Play Area on Wednesday evening, and while I was driving, she started talking about the traffic lights. Green circle! Red circle! Green circle! Red circle!” I figured I might as well give her her first driving lesson (never too early, right?), so I said, “Green means go, and red means stop.” Instead of repeating me, she asked, “How about white, mom?” As in, what does the color white mean? Totally stumped! I wish she had asked about yellow instead because I could have said, “proceed with caution” or something! She wouldn’t have understood me, but at least I would have had an answer! I can’t wait until she starts asking about the differences between boys and girls…

Now on to a completely different subject: news anchors and their families! This week I attended an event at school featuring two local anchors, Lin Sue Cooney and Mark Curtis, from 12 News. They talked about their previous journalism experiences, why they decided to get into this field, the most difficult news stories they have ever had to cover, etc. The most interesting part to me, however, was not what they do, but how they balance all of it. I quickly learned that both Cooney and Curtis have children, and I was immediately interested in how they make time for their families. I know this blog is supposed to be about school and family, but I’ll eventually be done with school, and then I’ll have to balance work and family (well, hopefully). Might as well gather information while I can!

Here’s a piece of my Cronkite Conversations post that I found relevant to this:

Cooney very passionately stated that her privacy is important to her and that her family comes first. She clearly finds significance in the work she does, but she takes parenting seriously, as well. Curtis echoed this sentiment, although he mentioned losing track of his priorities at different times throughout his career. He referred to the time he asked his wife to be induced so he could witness the birth of his daughter before leaving to cover the 1988 Olympics. I can only imagine what a difficult situation that must have been, and I will strive to ensure that I don’t miss out on milestones that I might later regret.

Curtis also said, “This business can be very hard on relationships,” which he made clear through the above example, and it led me to think about how my desire to be a journalist will later affect my role as a wife and mother. I want to excel in both family and career-related roles, and it looks as though I, like our speakers, will just have to work hard to maintain a balance between the two.

I was thrilled to soak up their advice and experiences, and I was even more excited when I realized I have a place to share all of this! So here’s the lesson of the week: you have to figure out where to draw the line. Only take on as much as you can handle, or you’ll end up pulling your hair out trying to spread yourself too thin.

2 Responses to “News anchors seek balance, too”

  1. karenselliott September 19, 2010 at 3:54 am #

    Interesting piece, Joanne. So often, moms and dads realize too late the mistakes they have made and the time lost – I can attest to this as my son is now 30 y.o. Family and children are the ultimate gifts; however, a person needs to find outside meaning and purpose – that’s very important as well. I was at a party with my son, family, and friends yesterday, and someone asked me was I moving along with my military son, his wife, and his two young boys (my grandsons) from the sunny SW to Minot, ND. My response was, of course I was going! Though my writing is important (I can do that from anywhere), life without family is empty.

  2. Elvina September 19, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    Nice post. My ears perked when Cooney and Curtis started talking about the sacrifices they have had to make with their families to keep up with their jobs as journalists. When Curtis said he had had his wife induced a day earlier so he could be there for the delivery of his daughter, my mouth dropped open in shock. I said “That is just wrong!” But as I drove home, I thought how real that was and how it is something that I do everyday, just in a different way. When I just peep into my son’s room in the morning on Mondays and come back home after 8pm, long after he has gone to bed…the guilt is unbearable. I guess with time we will get better at balancing…and dealing with the guilt.

Leave a Reply

