Organize your life

24 Oct
I spent the past couple weeks juggling some new elements into my rather busy schedule—Hannah’s 3rd birthday, which was this weekend, and preparing for Halloween. Hannah’s last two birthdays (and last two Halloweens) were a little easier to plan because taking care of her was my primary responsibility. I didn’t have anything else going on (i.e. school), so party planning fit into my schedule. Now I’ve been trying to figure out how to justify the fact that I spent many hours looking for Halloween costumes and planning a birthday party when I needed to be using that time to do homework. I love doing all this stuff, but it’s not as much fun when I’m rushing around to get it done. Oh, for a few extra hours in each day…

Although the planning part was stressful, Hannah’s 3rd birthday turned out quite well.
I also managed to work on an assignment for my broadcast class the day before and the day after the party.  Wondering how I did it all? I am, too! Honestly, it’s all about time management and organization.

Here are a few ideas about how to make this time of year (holidays, final projects, etc.) a little easier on those who may have too many irons in the fire.

  1. Use a planner. No really, you NEED it! I don’t think I could function without mine! I may be a little old-school because I actually use a paper planner, but using the calendar function on your phone or computer will work, too. Knowing what you have going on each day will hopefully help relieve the burden a little.

  2. Make a list—either on paper or, again, on your phone/computer. Knowing what you need before you go to the store is easier than trying to figure it out once you get there. Believe me, I know this from experience! Also, allotting time to certain activities (shopping, meetings, assignments, doctor appointments, etc.) will be much easier if you know how many activities you actually have!

  3. Kill two birds with one stone, if possible. By that, I mean plan out what you need do/buy (the internet is great for this), and try to do as much of it as possible in one place or one area of town. It will cut down on wasted time and gas. I attempted to do this at Party City yet again this year. I love that place! All of Hannah’s party themes/decorations have come from Party City. Not only that, but they have Halloween stuff, too! I was hoping it would be my one-stop shop this year, but I ended up driving all over town looking at other Halloween costumes because Sean and I couldn’t decide on a theme. And here you go—wasted time and gas! Utilize your resources as much as you can, and know your destination before you leave the house.

  4. Don’t be afraid to ask for help. I assigned a couple food-related tasks to family members to help me with the party, and my husband took on the responsibility of cleaning the house (oh, how I love him!). I was able to focus on decorating, ordering and picking up the balloons and cake, keeping track of the number of attendees and ensuring that Hannah took a bath and a nap before guests arrived. I often decline help from others, but I knew how much I could handle, and the extra help was certainly appreciated.

    I’ll leave you with just one last tip for today, but it should go without saying:

  5. Take every opportunity to enjoy the time you spend with your children. Even if Hannah’s party hadn’t turned out as I had planned, or if we stay home together and do nothing on Halloween, at least I’ll know that I was there, soaking up every minute with Hannah I possibly could.



One Response to “Organize your life”

  1. creatingameaningfullife October 27, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    I always love hearing your advice. This Auntie needs to follow it so she can include OTHER birthdays on her agenda….Thank you for the tips! And you all look amazing too!

Leave a Reply

