Multitasking in Kazakhstan

16 Nov

On November 2nd, Election Day, I had a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to interview a journalist from Kazakhstan who was visiting ASU with a group of professionals in the Edward R. Murrow Program for Journalists. I initially spoke with this woman, Olessya Ivanova, about how our election process differs from hers, how she feels about social media and what she learned during her trip to the United States. I then got a little more personal and asked about her family. I learned that not only has this woman been a successful journalist for more than 10 years, but she is also a mother of two. I couldn’t help but wonder how she manages to find success in both her career and at home, so we talked about it for a while. Her response to my questions helped confirm my belief that I can, in fact, have the best of both worlds.

After our interview, I created an audio-only podcast as part of a group project for my broadcast journalism class. I thought this would be a great place to share it, since the goal of my blog is to show that multitasking as a parent/student or parent/professional is entirely possible. Olessya is a wonderful example of this idea.

Click here for my interview with Olessya Ivanova.


One Response to “Multitasking in Kazakhstan”

  1. karenselliott November 17, 2010 at 5:26 am #

    Nice job, Joanne. “Where there is a wish, there is a way,” she said. How true.

Leave a Reply

