Ornaments and window clings and nail polish! Oh, my!

30 Nov

Hannah’s quote of the week:

On Thanksgiving, we went around the table to say what we’re thankful for. When it was Hannah’s turn, Sean asked, “What are you thankful for, Hannah?” Her response: “Turkey!” I can’t help but love her honesty. Now let’s transition from Thanksgiving to Christmas…

‘Tis the season to spend lots of time on holiday celebrations and lots of money on gifts. Well, maybe not this year. My husband and I decided to have a lighter Christmas to save a little of both.

I figured it would be fun to find a few simple and inexpensive holiday activities to do with Hannah since she is now old enough to begin grasping the concept of Christmas. I’m nearing the end of my first semester in grad school, too, so I’ve been trying to do quick projects with Hannah in between assignments. Here’s what we’ve done in the past few days:

Project: Christmas tree ornaments

Purchased from: Target

Price: $2 for a package of two ornaments

I found felt ornament and garland kits that require minimal instruction. Hannah and I made two Christmas tree ornaments one night, and then we made slightly more complex Santa ornaments the next night. We started on the garland, but that seems to be a bit beyond her age range, so I plan to finish that one myself. Overall, this project was enjoyable for both of us, and it didn’t take long at all.

Project: Winter window clings

Purchased from: Wal-Mart

Price: $2 for one sheet

I’m eager to decorate my house for Christmas, but I don’t have time right now to spend a whole day doing it. I figured sticking a few snowflakes on our front window would only take five minutes but would start to create a holiday feeling at our house. Although we had some trouble getting them to stick, the clings were still a fun and easy way to get in a holiday mood. Hannah loves to help, so this was a good project for her.

Project: Holiday nail polish

Purchased from: Wal-Mart

Price: $2.50 for a 0.40 fl oz bottle

Wearing festive nail polish is another way I like to celebrate the holidays, and as you might expect, curious little Hannah has taken an interest in this as well. While we were grocery shopping, I found some green nail polish and thought painting our nails would not only be inexpensive, but also entertaining and simple.

There are dozens of other inexpensive ways to celebrate the holidays with your kids. Here are a few websites worth checking out:

1.  http://www.nickjr.com/printables/index.jhtml

This Nick Jr. site has printable holiday activities, including Wubbzy’s Hanukkah Menorah, Umizoomi Placemats and Dora’s Thanksgiving Tree.

2. http://www.raisingarizonakids.com/index.php?page=1.calendar.calendar

The Raising Arizona Kids site has a calendar of events with a variety of activities you can enjoy with your children during the holiday season.

3.  http://www.michaels.com/Seasons-Celebrations/projects-seasonsandcelebrations,default,sc.html

Michaels is probably my favorite arts and crafts store, and their website has tons of great projects for many holidays, including Christmas, Hanukkah and Kwanzaa.

4. http://www.food.com/cookbook/holiday-food-art-for-kids-175653

Food.com has a section dedicated to food projects for kids, so if you and your kiddos prefer to eat your art rather than hang it on the wall, this is the place for you!

Let me know if you’ve found any other great holiday project ideas or websites, and I’ll mention them in my next blog post. Happy holidays!

2 Responses to “Ornaments and window clings and nail polish! Oh, my!”

  1. creatingameaningfullife December 1, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    Thank you for the excellent ideas! Love it!

  2. karenselliott December 2, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    Another stellar post JoJo, and I especially appreciate the websites list. And the pictures of Hannah – precious.

Leave a Reply

