3 going on 30!

29 Jan

I’m back in school now, working on my second semester at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication. I have plenty of homework to occupy me this weekend, but I thought I’d take a moment to share a couple funny examples of Hannah’s eagerness to grow up before getting back to my assignments.

On Sept. 26 I posted a blog called “I Can Do It Myself!” in which I discussed how independent Hannah has become. I also discussed why it is important to allow your children to learn on their own and to have patience. Well, I recently found that there can actually be some entertainment value in this often frustrating situation.

A couple of weeks ago Sean was searching for job opportunities online. Hannah came over and asked what he was doing. He said, “I’m looking for a job.”  A few minutes later, he noticed that Hannah had started sifting through the trash can in our office, which was just full of paper (not actual trash, don’t worry). He asked her what she was doing, and she replied, “I’m looking for a job.” If only it were so easy to look for work…

Then a few days ago Hannah was in my room with me while I was changing, and she looked up at me and said, “I wanna wear a bra when I get older.” Where does she come up with this stuff? She had me cracking up!

Hannah has also been going into my closet to find my shoes, and she’ll walk around the house in them for hours at a time. I’m amazed by the things she picks up on that make her feel more like an adult. She’s in such a hurry to grow up! I won’t deny how much I enjoy seeing what she’ll come up with next, though!

By the way, in my “I Can Do It Myself” blog, I mentioned that Hannah was having trouble understanding that she needed to speak in first person and not third (“Hannah can do that,” she’d say). She’s got it down, now. All day long, I hear, “I can do that all by myself!” I’ve also gotten better about having patience and letting her do things on her own. We’re learning together.

2 Responses to “3 going on 30!”

  1. karenselliott January 30, 2011 at 3:42 am #

    Cute stories, Joanne. A child’s independence can sometimes be frustrating for a parent (patience, people), but it can also add to a child’s self-esteem when they are finally able to do that one task they’ve been trying to accomplish independently for so long. Side story – was walking through Target with my son, his wife, and two young boys. We went past the racks of bras. Shawn – 3 y.o. – said LOUDLY, “They’re for boobies!”

    • Joanne Ingram January 30, 2011 at 8:31 am #

      That’s too funny, Karen!
      Referring back to the self-esteem boosting you mentioned, I can definitely see that allowing Hannah to do new things on her own has helped her feel better about being a “big girl.” Every time she accomplishes something she couldn’t do before, she shouts, “I did it!!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

