Going from point A to point B

5 Mar

Last November I mentioned in my blog post, Should I Stay or Should I Go, that I would have an opportunity to travel to the Dominican Republic with a group of my classmates. Well, I’m leaving for the DR on Wednesday. The semester is flying by, so I can’t believe it’s already time to pack my bags. With the packing, though, comes the explanation to Hannah that I’m going away for a while. I told her last week that I would be gone for nine days, just to see if she would understand. Her response? “Oh, my!” Then she started talking about something completely unrelated.  A few minutes later, though, she said, “I’ll take care of the animals when you’re gone.” She meant our pets, Macy, Kramer and Lulah. I laughed, but hearing this made me realize that maybe she does understand to some extent that I’m going away. I plan to bring this up each day until I leave, just to make sure. I also plan to utilize Skype as much as possible, even if it’s just for a couple of minutes every day or two.

I’ve been pretty apprehensive about this trip since about December because flying makes me nervous, and I’m going to a place I’ve never been. Doing research and interviews, as well as talking about the trip with my classmates, has helped me become less worried and more excited about it. Or I was until yesterday. Hannah started coughing in the afternoon, and today it’s pretty clear that she has something going on. It’s probably just a cold, but I feel bad for leaving while she’s sick because I know I’ll be exposing her to her caretakers—my mom and my mother-in-law. I’m also concerned because I CANNOT GET SICK. The story I plan to write for this depth reporting class is about children in the DR, and I do not want to go there and get a bunch of kids sick. I’m sure my classmates wouldn’t appreciate it either. I feel bad for being so selfish because I know my primary concern should be Hannah’s health and not my own, but I can’t help but think that the timing is just terrible. Needless to say, I’ve been taking vitamin C and Zicam all day (I swear by Zicam). I’m hopeful Hannah will feel better before I leave and that no one else will get sick.

If all goes well (meaning I don’t get sick in the next four days), I’ll post another blog upon my return—hopefully one with plenty of photos and wonderful stories!

2 Responses to “Going from point A to point B”

  1. karenselliott March 6, 2011 at 5:20 am #

    You’re a good mommy … explaining ahead of time. Hannah has obviously processed it somewhat by volunteering to take care of the animals. With familiar family coming in to help Sean and Hannah, it’s going to be an adventure for her. You’re doing a good thing. You should start a scrapbook – put your articles, pictures, plane tickets, maps, etc. She’ll appreciate it a lot in a couple years, and you’ll have a keepsake to share with her and others.

    • Joanne Ingram March 6, 2011 at 7:51 am #

      Thanks, Karen! Hopefully everything will turn out just fine. I really like that scrapbook idea–I’ll definitely keep that in mind!

Leave a Reply

