Moms can still be cool!

26 Apr

My mind is still racing from my marathon Dominican Republic article-writing (due tomorrow), so I thought I’d just keep it going and post some thoughts on my blog before I try to go back to sleep.

Maybe I started thinking about motherhood because Mother’s Day is only a couple weeks away, and I’m still taken aback every time I remember that I get to celebrate it now. Or maybe it’s because I’m in my last year of my 20’s, and I’m starting to get a little anxious about it. I don’t know, but for whatever reason, this is what I started thinking about as soon as I went to bed:

The fact that I’m a nearly 30-year-old wife and mother has not escaped the minds of some of my younger classmates, and because most of them are single and don’t have children, we seem to see each other a little differently.

I find it funny when they are shocked to hear me use swear words at school. How dare a mother cuss in public! 

I also laugh when they apologize for swearing in front of me, as if I’d be offended! 

I’m amused when they are surprised to see the tattoos on my ankles or when I mention that I once pierced my tongue. Me? A tattoo? Piercings? 

Yes, I push a stroller and drive a “soccer mom” SUV and read Tikki Tikki Tembo and watch Toy Story 1, 2 and 3 at least once a week.

Yes, I get excited when Hannah spells her name on her chalkboard or learns a new song or goes “pee pee in the potty.”

Yes, I listen to “relaxing” music like Jack Johnson, John Mayer and Coldplay, but I also like Eminem, Katy Perry and Lady Gaga.

Yes, I argue with Sean about money and fret over other petty “married people” issues that never used to matter to me.

Yes, I drink wine instead of beer, and I enjoy it!

Instead of going out and partying until I crash on someone’s else’s couch, I fall asleep on my own… and sometimes before midnight.

But yes, I also get very excited about being in school and learning new things about journalism.

I stress over getting A’s in my classes and went into a panic waiting to find out whether I’d be accepted in to the summer fellowship program I was competing for (and I was accepted, by the way).  

Yes, I still like to be social, and I love gossip and drama—as long as it doesn’t involve me.

Yes, I want another tattoo…or two!

Yes, I’m a mom and a wife, and I’m almost three decades old. That doesn’t mean I’m uncool, though…does it?

2 Responses to “Moms can still be cool!”

  1. karenselliott April 26, 2011 at 1:28 am #

    Heck yeah you’re cool. Me too, and I’m 53. All of Kenton’s A.F. friends call me mam, yes mam, no mam. I love GaGa too.

  2. Leah April 26, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    Joanne, you’re totally cool! Take it from your BFF! ;D

Leave a Reply

